Semi-finalists announced

L-R: Victoria Wong, Eric Tsai, Angela Sin Ying Chan, Sir Michael Hill, Christine, Lady Hill, Anna Im, Jevgēnijs Čepoveckis, Hannah Cho

After an intensive four days of competition in Rounds 1 and 2, our International Jury have agreed and announced the six Semi-finalists who will progress to the next round of the Competition.

They are, in their performance order:


  • Do Gyung (Anna) Im (South Korea) – Quintet in G minor K516

  • Victoria Wong (Australia) – Quintet in C major K515

  • Hannah Cho (USA) – Quintet in G minor K516


  • Jevgēnijs Čepoveckis (Latvia) – Quintet in G minor K516

  • Angela Sin Ying Chan (Hong Kong) – Quintet in E-flat major K614

  • Eric Tsai (USA) – Quintet in G minor K516

The Semi-finals take place in Auckland Town Hall this Wednesday 5 and Thursday 6 June.

You can buy tickets here, or watch the live stream on our Facebook page or on our website.

The winner of the NZ Commissioned Work Prize for the Competitor whom the Judges decided best performed Lyell Cresswell’s Chatoyance is Harry Ward (pictured below with Lyell). Harry receives NZ$2,000, which is generously donated by Dame Jenny Gibbs. 

We wish the very best of luck to all our Semi-finalists, and look forward to enjoying a robust week of masterclasses, workshops and Classroom Conversations with the superb Quarter-finalists who did not make it through to the next round.

For more information on which development and community events are open to the public, please have a look here